Jump to content


Photo

Japanese pre-game surprise attack


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Christopher Cafiero

Christopher Cafiero

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • LocationRichardson, texas

Posted 23 July 2011 - 09:13 PM

For the pre-game Japanese surprise air raid on Subic Bay:

The Japanese have 14 flights of aircraft, 8 flights from Kisarazu Kokutai and 6 from Kanoya Kokutai, correct?

Flights that survive from Kanoya Kokutai can be used on Turn 1, correct?

They can attack the ships at Subic Bay only, correct?

There is no provision to attack the port at Subic Bay itself, correct?

LBA cannot intercept (CAP), correct?

The ships in Subic are motionless, but can use their AA strength, correct?

Also, how is the port AA strength used, or isn't (since it's a surprise attack)

Thanks,
Chris
Christopher J. Cafiero

"I shall have no connection with any vessel that is not fast, for I intend to go in Harm's way..."

#2 Blue Leader

Blue Leader

    Major

  • Deactivated
  • 400 posts

Posted 24 July 2011 - 01:41 PM

For the pre-game Japanese surprise air raid on Subic Bay:

The Japanese have 14 flights of aircraft, 8 flights from Kisarazu Kokutai and 6 from Kanoya Kokutai, correct?

Correct.

Flights that survive from Kanoya Kokutai can be used on Turn 1, correct?

They can attack the ships at Subic Bay only, correct?

There is no provision to attack the port at Subic Bay itself, correct?

Correct, the first turn is against the ships.

LBA cannot intercept (CAP), correct?

The ships in Subic are motionless, but can use their AA strength, correct?

The ships can use their AA fire, but remember this is a high level attack.

Also, how is the port AA strength used, or isn't (since it's a surprise attack)

Thanks,
Chris

the AA fire of the port would be used against an attack on the port, yes this is a surprise attack. An argument could be made that the port AA would fire at the retiring attackers.

#3 Blue Leader

Blue Leader

    Major

  • Deactivated
  • 400 posts

Posted 24 July 2011 - 06:21 PM

Chris, it would be great to have AAR's of any of your Sudden Storm games.

#4 Christopher Cafiero

Christopher Cafiero

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • LocationRichardson, texas

Posted 24 July 2011 - 11:03 PM

I am writing up the first turn already ;)

I'm still not entirely clear on LBA...does it just get to attack stuff in its area (albeit late in the turn), or does it have to be assigned a CP (and if so, which ones)?

Also, I'm not sure I've found a provision to attack GCU on the ground with airpower, have I just missed it?

Thanks...Again!

Chris, it would be great to have AAR's of any of your Sudden Storm games.


Christopher J. Cafiero

"I shall have no connection with any vessel that is not fast, for I intend to go in Harm's way..."

#5 Blue Leader

Blue Leader

    Major

  • Deactivated
  • 400 posts

Posted 25 July 2011 - 11:31 PM

I am writing up the first turn already ;)

I'm still not entirely clear on LBA...does it just get to attack stuff in its area (albeit late in the turn), or does it have to be assigned a CP (and if so, which ones)?

Also, I'm not sure I've found a provision to attack GCU on the ground with airpower, have I just missed it?

Thanks...Again!

Chris, excellent questions again. The effect of LBA is factored into the ground combat table, rather than requiring it be a CD or mission. The effect of CarDivs, carriers, is found on the Ground Attack CRT where having one available gives a +1 to the die roll, see Amphib Fire Support modifier. Also LBA attacks are automatic at the end of the turn if there are targets meeting the criteria in areas where an LBA is based, no Command Decision or mission is used.

#6 Christopher Cafiero

Christopher Cafiero

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • LocationRichardson, texas

Posted 26 July 2011 - 07:39 PM

Thanks, although I'm feeling stupid for not figuring this out on my own...

CTO, LBA question...

On Turn I U.S.N. TF5 sorties to the CTO to break the Japanese blockade...it avoids contact with I.J.N. Sweeps in the PTO, and engages in a fierce battle with the blockade force...now its the LBA phase.

Can the Kanoya Kokutai at Takao Field in Formosa can attempt an air attack on TF-5's survivors?; can

the 13th Kokutai arrives at Shanghai, Central China Turn I...can they attack? and;

the entry on 12th Kokutai just flat out confuses me, it starts at Shanghai, China and Transfers to Formosa on Turn III, or it just shows up at Formosa on Turn III (and is unavilable until then)?

Simply put, which Japanese airfields can attack ships in the CTO, I don't understand how you can tell...can they only attack units that raid their airbases?

Thanks Again!

Chris, excellent questions again. The effect of LBA is factored into the ground combat table, rather than requiring it be a CD or mission. The effect of CarDivs, carriers, is found on the Ground Attack CRT where having one available gives a +1 to the die roll, see Amphib Fire Support modifier. Also LBA attacks are automatic at the end of the turn if there are targets meeting the criteria in areas where an LBA is based, no Command Decision or mission is used.


Christopher J. Cafiero

"I shall have no connection with any vessel that is not fast, for I intend to go in Harm's way..."

#7 Lonnie Gill

Lonnie Gill

    Captain

  • ODGW Staff
  • 288 posts

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:16 AM

G’ Day Chris,

The ability of LBA to intervene in naval operations in the basic campaign is minimized by the limited tactical radius of the land-based aircraft, which seldom exceeded 150 NMs. Most air commanders in that era considered a mission more than 100 NMs offshore risky. Hence, the rules on Page 28 provide that clashes between opposing Sweeps and engagements on the OR and SR convoy routes take place too far at sea for LBA to intervene. LBA can only attack missions (after naval engagements if any) that are plotted to specific locations near the LBA airfield such as Raids, Patrols, Amphibious Assaults and Supply Convoys. The basic rules define this locational proximity as follows: For the vast ETO, this requires a mission plotted to one of the land objectives containing an airfield with LBA. In the PTO, missions plotted to locations near Luzon can be attacked by LBA based on Luzon. [Note this excludes theater wide Sweep missions.] The Marine air group at SEQUOIA on Mindanao defends the base from Raid missions, but it could only be used against naval missions near Luzon if it is redeployed to an airfield on Luzon. Finally, in the CTO, LBA can only be used against naval missions if based on an airfield on Hainan Island.

Built into the campaign, but not overtly stated, is that while Orange would blockade the entire China coast (as shown on the map), Blue Sweep intercepts and convoy missions would take place along the south China coast to avoid additional air and naval forces from Shanghai and Formosa. Hence, only Orange LBA based on Hainan would be in range to intervene against these missions. Thus in your example, TF 5 would be exempt from attack on Turn 1 after engaging a China Blockade Patrol mission as Orange LBA has not yet been deployed to Hainan.

In this pre-drop tank (DT) era, CAP from single engine LBA fighters is only available to defend an LBA base and adjacent port as provided in section R 1 on the Engagement Resolution chart. Offensive attacks by LBA bombers against naval forces at sea can be made as described above, but these are unescorted air strikes. Of course, that’s not a problem unless the target task force contains a carrier to provide CAP over the task force.

If you would like to explore the impact of the new, revolutionary G3M (Nell) and YB-17 aircraft on naval operations, we have provided an “Extended Range LBA Option” in the Bonus Files. These aircraft with startling long tactical ranges will begin to transform the impact of airpower on naval warfare and can intervene against naval missions beyond the radius of other LBA as simulated in the basic campaign. This excerpt from the Option defines the added capacity:
“B. Only G3M and YB-17 flights from these designated airfields can make extended range LBA attacks after naval engagements involving the following locations:
Takao Field (Formosa) – China Blockade in the CTO and Amphibious Assault, Patrol, Raid, Sweep and Convoy missions adjacent to North Luzon in the PTO.
San-ya Field (Hainan) – China Blockade and Oil Route engagements in the CTO.
Clark Field (Central Luzon) – Amphibious Assault, Patrol, Raid, Sweep and Convoy missions adjacent to any Luzon sector in the PTO and Raids against the Orange advanced anchorage at Mako and Takao Field.
Nichols Field (South Luzon) – Amphibious Assault, Patrol, Raid, Sweep and Convoy missions adjacent to any Luzon sector and Raids against the Blue advanced base at SEQUOIA in Mindanao in the PTO.
Parker Field (SEQUOIA) – Amphibious Assault, Patrol, Raid, Sweep and Convoy missions adjacent to South Luzon and SE Luzon.”
Refer to the Option for a full description of the requirements and capabilities of these LBA units.

Finally, let’s look at why the IJN LBA kokutais you asked about are at their designated locations in the early Turns of the campaign. These start in their historical locations at the beginning of the 1937 “China Incident.” Then, some are transferred to reflect the need to support naval operations in the Strike South while others remain to support the ground fighting in China:
Kisarazu Kokutai – Starts in its historical base on Cheju-Do to support land operations around Shanghai with long-range missions. It is temporarily deployed to Formosa on Turn I for the one surprise air strike. Then, in Turn III, it is transferred to Formosa to support naval operations in the growing naval war as well as operations around Shanghai. From there, it can be deployed to Luzon or elsewhere during the campaign as determined by the Orange commanders.
12th Kokutai – Starts in its historical location to support Orange ground operations at Shanghai. As with the Kisarazu Kokutai, the 12th is transferred to Formosa on Turn III so that it can be deployed as desired to support naval operations in the campaign. These transfers to Formosa are “free” and do not require plotting a Troop Convoy mission.
Kanoya Kokutai – Based in Formosa to support operations in Shanghai (historical) and naval operations in the PTO for Sudden Storm. Retained at Takao to support these multiple operations and defend Formosa against attack.
13th Kokutai – Transferred to Shanghai at the start of the war to support ground operations in central China and defend against potential naval attacks against Shanghai. Retained at Shanghai as part of the IJN’s wide scope of missions to support both the ground operations in China and the Strike South against Blue.

I trust this background helps clarify the role of LBA in the campaign.

LONNIE




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users