Jump to content


Photo

Bonus rolls for Vets and Elites


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 William Keyser

William Keyser

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 03:07 AM

Hi
A quick question on Bonus rolls. The section on page 7-5 starts off by saying that it is not really more rounds but then it states that "Stands may change targets normally when using Bonus Shots" So does this mean that the bonus rolls can be used as more shots (higher ROF). Does this mean that then if you switch targets you loss one ROF.

A IVHs with elite crew fires on a troop of British shermans advancing. With the Bonus rolls he has three to hit rolls, the first will be normal mods the other two will have the -3 or 1/2 applied after all other mods. So far so good if he is fireing all his rolls at one target. But since the Bonus section copied below seems to imply that its ROF is 3. So does this mean that it can engage two targets, since it loses one ROF by switching targets. So the first sherman would be shot at with normal mods the second would then have the -3 or 1/2 mods applied at the end?


Also if all three rounds are fired at one target does the +2 for firing at the same target apply for the scond and third roll? And does the +2 for firing at same target apply for weapons with a ROF fire of 2 or more if firing at the same target.
Thanks William



Due to their training and quality some
stands are allowed additional To-Hit rolls.
This does not necessarily mean the stand is
firing more shots; it simulates both more
accurate fire by the stand and the stand’s
potential to engage more targets. In the
Troop Quality tables for each nationality
there is a Bonus roll for Veteran and Elite
troops, which is in addition to the ROF of
their weapon systems. All Bonus Rolls
incur a -½ modifier (round down) after
applying all modifiers, or -3, whichever is
worse. Consult the Troop Quality tables to
determine the number of Bonus Shot available.
Note: the -½ negative modifier applies
only to Bonus rolls due to Troop Quality
(TQ) and does not apply to additional shots
due to a weapon’s rate of fire. Also, the
stand always receives its Bonus Roll, even
when its ROF is reduced due to Overwatch
or Reaction. Stands may change targets
normally when using Bonus Shots

#2 William Keyser

William Keyser

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 02:07 AM

Hellooooo any one hommmmmme??????

#3 Tu Tran

Tu Tran

    ODGW Web Admin

  • ODGW Staff
  • 473 posts
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 05 February 2013 - 11:12 PM

A IVHs with elite crew fires on a troop of British shermans advancing. With the Bonus rolls he has three to hit rolls, the first will be normal mods the other two will have the -3 or 1/2 applied after all other mods. So far so good if he is fireing all his rolls at one target. But since the Bonus section copied below seems to imply that its ROF is 3. So does this mean that it can engage two targets, since it loses one ROF by switching targets. So the first sherman would be shot at with normal mods the second would then have the -3 or 1/2 mods applied at the end?


Yes, changing targets will cost one of the ROFs. The first shot taken at Sherman 1 would be with normal modifiers calculated. After changing targets, the second shot would incur the -1/2 or -3 (whichever is worse) after all modifications have been applied.

Also if all three rounds are fired at one target does the +2 for firing at the same target apply for the scond and third roll? And does the +2 for firing at same target apply for weapons with a ROF fire of 2 or more if firing at the same target.


That is correct. If all three shots are taken at the same target, the +2 consecutive target modifier can be applied to the shot two & three. Not utilizing Bonus shots, if the weapon ROF is 2, then the second shot should have the +2 consecutive fire modifier applied.

Using your example:

All three shots (1 ROF & 2 bonus for elite) are taken at the Sherman One. Lets say the calculated 'To-Hit' number calculated is 8.

First shot: 8 or less
Second & Third shots (bonus shots): 5 or less

Why 5? The 'To-Hit' for shot one is 8 or less. Since shot two & three are at the same target, the consecutive fire modifier is applied which makes the 'To-Hit' number 10. If you apply the -3 for the bonus shots to the new 'To-Hit' number (10) brings the number to 7. If you apply the -1/2 side of the rule, the 'To-Hit' number is 5, which is worse so 5 or less is the 'To-Hit' number for the Second and Third shots.

| Help Topics | ODGW Store | Downloads | Forums | Product Registration | Submit Support Request |

"Somtimes I wonder... Why is that frisby growing larger? And then it hits me."


#4 William Keyser

William Keyser

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 03:10 AM

Thanks
I have to say that the effect of training on combat is one of the things I really like about Mein Panzer. Most Tread-Head rules ( I am one of those and proud of it) put to much empasis on the hard data, and not enough on the differance in ability of the troops.

William
  • Bob Benge likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users