Jump to content


Photo

HE Attacks Against Buildings and Damage Results


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Peter M. Skaar

Peter M. Skaar

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 16 November 2015 - 02:59 PM

Hey Ken or Bob

 

An HE attack is conducted against a building.  When resolving damage and no hits are scored on the kill table, is the HE OV still added to create some damage?   Or is the attack considered totally ineffective with no damage at all?

 

It would seem to me that if the building is hit, at least some sort of damage would be done but I am not really clear on the intent of the rules.  Your input is appreciated.

 

Thanks.

 

Pete



#2 Kenny Noe

Kenny Noe

    Mein Panzer Guru

  • ODGW Staff
  • 630 posts

Posted 23 November 2015 - 07:58 AM

Peter,

 

As I understand the rules if the Kill table result produces no hits, then the building / structure is undamaged, this doesn't mean the units inside are not affected.  Suppression and Immobilization rolls still have effects on units inside.  See page 15.2 of the Core rules.

 

Thanks



#3 Peter M. Skaar

Peter M. Skaar

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 23 November 2015 - 01:06 PM

Hi Ken

 

Thanks for your input.  I will go ahead and play it that way.  I wasn't real clear about that from my reading of the rules.

 

It does seem, however, in the case of a mortar with OV1 hitting a building multiple times would do some sort of damage to the structure over time even if no "hits" are scored on the Kill Table.  This would be especially true for smaller/ weaker structures.

 

Thanks very much for answering my question.  I appreciate it very much.

 

Pete



#4 Kenny Noe

Kenny Noe

    Mein Panzer Guru

  • ODGW Staff
  • 630 posts

Posted 04 December 2015 - 09:22 AM

Pete,

 

You are welcome.

 

I understand your point.  Maybe Bob can chime in an give his POV.  This said there's nothing preventing you from tweaking the rules and having a "house" rule that you favor.

 

Good hunting.

 

--Kenny



#5 Peter M. Skaar

Peter M. Skaar

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 07 December 2015 - 06:22 PM

Thanks again, Kenny!



#6 Bob Benge

Bob Benge

    Mein Panzer Guru

  • ODGW Staff
  • 1,157 posts
  • LocationLas Cruces, NM

Posted 27 December 2015 - 02:08 PM

Hi Pete,

 

I understand what you are saying, but I would also consider the size of the mortars and that the numbers rolled indicated hits on points in the building that have no significant impact to the actual structure of the building. It is hard to account for poor dice rolling, believe me I know. :)


~ Bob Benge ~
ODGW Designer
Product Manager - Mein Panzer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users