Jump to content


Photo

Activation and transportation units


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Robak

Robak

    Private

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 06 February 2018 - 08:50 AM

Hello,

I would like to ask how to count units for activation purposes. Assume I have a platoon in a truck, three infantry squad and three trucks. Questions:

1) If the platoon starts game in the truck they are one or two units for activation table purposes

2) In the rules is written then when infantry in truck moves both truck and infantry has to perform actions. If I have one action per activation it means that in first activation I move trucks (and infantry inside) and declare that infantry will use their action later on. Then second activation will be spent to use it for previous infantry move inside the truck?

Based on answers I will have other questions but to make topic clear I'll wait:)



#2 Mark 1

Mark 1

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 90 posts
  • LocationSF Bay Area

Posted 15 February 2018 - 05:39 PM

I am not connected with OGDW, so this answer is by no means the "official" word. But here is how I play it...

 

> 1) If the platoon starts game in the truck they are one or two units for activation table purposes

 

I treat the trucks and the infantry as two units. However, they must activate together while the infantry is riding in the trucks. (Same with infantry riding in halftracks, or on tanks, etc.).

 

>2) In the rules is written then when infantry in truck moves both truck and infantry has to perform actions.
>    If I have one action per activation it means that in first activation I move trucks (and infantry inside) and

>    declare that infantry will use their action later on. Then second activation will be spent to use it for previous

>    infantry move inside the truck?

 

We have a platoon of infantry, and a platoon (unit) of trucks. If within command radius, both will receive an action and a bonus move during their activation.

 

Use the bonus move to move. Both the infantry, and the trucks, expend it this way. Then if you prefer, you can use the activation to dismount. Or if it is an open-topped vehicle they can spot, or fire, or communicate (if they have commo gear), etc.  Or they can use their activation for a second move (so moving twice as far).

 

For the infantry to dismount (or to mount, in the opposite case), BOTH the truck AND the infantry stand need to expend their activation for the dismounting (or mounting) action.  Infantry can't dismount from a truck that is not spending the time (and in the proper attitude) to dismount them.  We don't have squads of infantry tumbling out of trucks as they role across the battlefield with their tail-gates up and locked.

 

If the truck did not move in that turn, then the dismount action can be followed by a bonus move. The infantry can move away from the truck, and the truck can withdraw (moving away from the infantry).

 

Once they have dismounted, in the next turn they will activate separately.

 

-Mark

(aka: Mk 1)


_________________
Mark 1

#3 Kenny Noe

Kenny Noe

    Mein Panzer Guru

  • ODGW Staff
  • 642 posts

Posted 19 February 2018 - 10:45 AM

Hello,

 

Mark is correct (mostly).

 

Recall the following - ALL units when activated GET 2 ACTIONS

 

The Advance Reference card page 2 column 1 "Activation" notes that a LOAD/UNLOAD action is a valid "Bonus" Move action

 

So in the example from above

 

 

 

Unit 1 - Infantry Platoon with transport.

 

 

Unit 1 is activated.  Infantry and vehicles are together.  Bonus Move Action - Vehicles (with mounted infantry) move to objective.   Standard Action (Move) - Vehicles reach objective

 

Turn 2

Unit 1 is activated.  Infantry and vehicles separate.  Bonus Move Action - Infantry dismounts (this applies to both inf stands and vehicles).  Standard Action (Move) - Infantry moves away from vehicles and into Fire positions.  Vehicles either move away (trucks w/o MG) or move into Fire support positions to aid infantry

 

Turn 3

Unit 1 is activated.  Infantry and vehicles separate.  Bonus Move Action - Forfeited to gain better OM modifier or FP modifier.  Standard Action (Fire) Both infantry stands and support vehicles shoot at targets

 

Note - If the vehicles don't have fire support weapons then they typically would pull back out of the line of fire and await the call to come pick up the infantry.  If they move out of command distance (for safety) then they only lose their bonus move.  But they still activate when the Infantry does because they are still part of the unit.  

 

Also if doctrine allows Infantry can fire from open top (or thru fire ports) while vehicle is moving.  The Fire-on-the-Move FP modifier would apply to the infantry in the vehicle.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Thanks






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users