• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Nicola Prandoni

Nicola Prandoni

Private

• Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 24 April 2007 - 07:41 AM

I'm studying how to handle campaign game air recon.I'm somehow puzzled on how effective long range aircraft (PB) are.I don't really know how was the actual search pattern, but using the rule as written seems to give too generous results.Imagine three Sunderlands searching a 15° arc with a 40 hex radius.They project maximum chances over an area of more than 6270 sqnm at all times!!!This seems even more generous if you think of their speed of 4 hexes (120nm) per hour; that makes for 20 hours round trip.This makes it all the most difficult to be everywhere at the same time over such a large area.Am I missing something or should I consider to divide the number of aircraft by a factor related to the range.As area grow with the square of the distance, reduction should be important at greater ranges.Say 2 for ranges of 21 to 30, 3 for ranges of 31 to 40.Did any of you guys think about it already, and would like to share thoughts?Nicola

#2 Jim O'Neil

Jim O'Neil

Lieutenant

• Members
  • 232 posts
  • LocationSE Arizona, Sierra Vista/ Ft Huachuca area

Posted 24 April 2007 - 07:43 PM

Nicola,Weather should modify the probability (thick clouds, say 80% coverage means only a 20% chance of visual sighting); see page 3-4. Also there is a fine chance of an inaccurate sighting report (which could ID enemy ships as friendly) and for an aircraft to make a sure ID requires that it get close enough to get shot down by AA.

#3 James Davis

James Davis

Private

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 10 July 2007 - 02:44 PM