• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Malcolm Sleight

Malcolm Sleight

Private

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 August 2008 - 11:26 AM

I've only played in a demo game because I'm a complete newbie, but I'm working on putting a game together. As a result I have a questions that are related.I read in another post that the AP Modifiers on page 8.2 of the core rules are not cumulative. However, this seems to defeat the statement that APCR effect tails off with distance.For example - A Pz IIIH has a normal base AP OV of 6 (after the hit has been rolled), whereas it has a base APCR of 11 (correct ?). Now, the normal AP round will be modified by the

#2 Bob Benge

Bob Benge

Mein Panzer Guru

• ODGW Staff
  • 1,211 posts
  • LocationLas Cruces, NM

Posted 28 August 2008 - 12:50 AM

Looks like your post was cut off, but I think I can answer your question. If you refer to the Advanced Reference Card (ARC) you will find on the front side (page 1) the AP Modifiers to Kill Table. There is a column for HVAP/APCR that tapers off the HVAP APCR penetration values starting at 36" with -2, then 48" with -4, then 60" with -6 and then 72" with -8 to the penetration of the round. Now at 6" range the penetration value is +1 (typo in the card in the Core Rules) and at 2" a +2. The cumulation is actually built into the modifiers as you will note that the degredation of the HVAP/APCR is -2 per 12" starting at 36". Your example of the Pz-IIIH APCR round with 11AP would have the following penetration at the ranges specified:2"=13AP, 6"=12AP, 12"=11AP, 24"=11AP, 36"=9AP, 48"=7AP, 60"=5AP, and 72"=3APNow the AP ratings for a normal AP round from this table degrade at the following:2"=+2AP, 6"=+1AP, 12"+24"=0", 36"=-1AP, 48"=-2AP, 60"=-4AP and 72"=-5APThus the Pz-IIIH normal AP round with 6AP penetration would be:2"=8AP, 6"=7AP, 12"=6AP, 24"=6AP, 36"=5AP, 48"=4AP, 60"=2AP, and 72"=1AP.Does this help? :)

#3 Malcolm Sleight

Malcolm Sleight

Private

• Members
  • 7 posts