Jump to content


Photo

Torpedo Question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Carl Christensen

Carl Christensen

    Private

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 December 2008 - 03:26 PM

Here is a question regarding torpedos:A destroyer fires torpedos from three seperate TT's each allowing one torpedo at the same target at the same time. Can I combine all three torpedos on the Torpedo CRT and roll to hit on the "3" column or do I have to roll three seperate rolls on the "1" column?RegardsCarl

#2 Dave Franklin

Dave Franklin

    Captain

  • Members
  • 296 posts
  • LocationColorado Springs CO

Posted 25 December 2008 - 04:51 AM

Again let me preface by saying my experience is with the WWII rules.First, unless playing an optional rule, you fire torpedoes by mounts. Not sure if that's what you meant.You roll for each mount separately on the Torpedo CRT.Even if you use the optional rule where you don't have to fire entire mounts, you still roll once for each spread from each mount.

#3 Cpt M

Cpt M

    Colonel

  • ODGW Staff
  • 941 posts

Posted 25 December 2008 - 10:21 AM

A destroyer fires torpedos from three seperate TT's each allowing one torpedo at the same target at the same time. Can I combine all three torpedos on the Torpedo CRT and roll to hit on the "3" column or do I have to roll three seperate rolls on the "1" column?

As co_diver stated, fire and and resolution is by mount (this is the same for both GQ3 and FAI). So, in your example, you would make 3 separate rolls on the "1" column.

#4 jaycee

jaycee

    Private

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 16 April 2016 - 04:57 AM

Here is a question regarding torpedos:A destroyer fires torpedos from three seperate TT's each allowing one torpedo at the same target at the same time. Can I combine all three torpedos on the Torpedo CRT and roll to hit on the "3" column or do I have to roll three seperate rolls on the "1" column?RegardsCarl

I was confused about this as well at first, but sussed it out later.

It doesn't give much of a chance to hit. Only chance is at 'suicide' range or at a DIW target, it seems.



#5 Cpt M

Cpt M

    Colonel

  • ODGW Staff
  • 941 posts

Posted 16 April 2016 - 04:33 PM

I was confused about this as well at first, but sussed it out later.

It doesn't give much of a chance to hit. Only chance is at 'suicide' range or at a DIW target, it seems.

Very true.  There was a wholesome underestimation of just how hard it is to obtain a hit with torpedoes.  It wasn't until the 1920s that the problem was truly addressed and realistic doctrine developed.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users