#1 RFL611

RFL611

Private

• Members
  • 8 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake

Posted 05 February 2015 - 03:36 PM

Hello all,

I am new to the game and this forum and I am wondering if there is any ODGW prohibition against development of software player aids for GQ3 since I have seen nothing through searches and the Vassal site?  I assume they wouldn't allow anybody else profiting from their content but what if the aids were free for personal use?

For my own personal use I have created a PC utility to emulate the ship logs and air formation logs to reduce paper waste and a little more functionality over paper logs.   Each ship log is generated as needed after reading the ship class' data from a database.   Scenarios can also be saved in the database and each ship involved is loaded into a separate log form at the start.  

For example:

Bismark%20log_zpspyexawhr.png

The above log shows damage to the Bismark (the black'ed out boxes).  (Please ignore the pluses in the radar boxes, I was just doing a what if the Bismark had better radar)

Bob

#2 Cpt M

Cpt M

Colonel

• ODGW Retired Staff
  • 939 posts

Posted 05 February 2015 - 08:57 PM

Very nice!  A utility like yours is certainly a help.  I expect the future of gaming lies in the application of such aids to the game board.  As for GQ3.3; well, the authors are decidedly not computer savvy enough to venture into that arena, I'm afraid.  A good friend of mine (who writes apps for a living) and I ran through some ideas of an app for GQ3.3.  Our idea was a tablet (or phone) app that would handle the ship logs and firing.  One idea was to have the firer results (generated on the firer's platform) "thrown" to the target's platform (where the determination of damage would be handled by another subroutine), thereby eliminating the hand logging of the results.  (When we discussed this, the tech was just coming on line; today, it might be doable).  A lot of interesting possibilities....     

#3 RFL611

RFL611

Private