Interesting question Glenn. The first thing I would try to ascertain is how often they actually carried two torpedoes operationally? If the answer is not very often (e.g. only at fairly short range), then problem solved - assume they are only carrying one. If it appears they really did typically carry two operationally, the next thing I would try to research is how they typically employed them? Would they typically drop both on one attack run (one pass and haul ass...), or would they typically make two attack runs? Of course, the answer to this second question could have several inputs - e.g. at close to the extent of their range, they might only make one run due to fuel considerations, and if there was a CAP present, they might only make one run.
As I mentioned above, I don't play the Tactical Air Rules. I play the Campaign Air Rules (I usually use a variant I came up with that uses an "Air/Surface Tactical Display" I "borrowed" from the old SPI board game War in the Pacific). So what would I do, if I determined it was plausible for them to launch an attack carrying two torpedoes? If there was no CAP, and they were not range constrained, I would allow the survivors of the first run to make a second run, but they would get attacked by AA again the second run. In this case, the Torpedo Bomber table on Chart 9I WWII Campaign Air Ops can be used as is.
In the case where they are going to drop both torps on one run, I'd probably do one of the following:
- Just have each flight roll twice on the Torpedo Bomber table, or
- Perhaps have each flight roll once on the Torpedo Bomber table for the first torp, and assume the second torp result is the die result +1.
Frankly, I'm not 100% sure which way I'd go, but I would probably lean to #2, as this would make the player weigh the ramifications - suffer two AA attacks, or make one run but the second torp will have a bad modifier...