• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 bobg

bobg

Private

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 02:24 PM

I'm new to AoS gaming and been looking for a small ship action rule set without Hex play.  

Very interested in Post Captain

1.  I plan to use the Waartisian 1/900 ships - will it be difficult to adjust scale or allot of calculations for them to be used (gauges, ranges, movement)?

2.  How many pages are the rules?  Trying to decide if I will buy download or have a hard copy sent.  If I ask for hard copy will the download copy be available right away?

3.  For beginners like me is there a basic rule set included or can some rules be ignored to make it not overwhelming and fun?

#2 Brian Weathersby

Brian Weathersby

Sergeant

• Members
  • 112 posts
  • Locationnear Houston, Texas

Posted 03 January 2018 - 09:51 PM

I will try and answer your questions, but please keep in mind I'm nothing more than a satisfied customer.  I'm sure one of the ODGW staff will be by later in the New Year to give you some better answers than I can.

1)  First of all, the War Artisan ships are really beautiful, so good for you!  If I were just starting out I would probably go with those instead of metal ones.  As for gauges and whatnot, the ones included with the rules are 1/1200 and 1/2400.  However, in the download sections there are gauges for 1/3000, 1/2000 and 1/1000 scale.  I would probably just use the 1/1000 ones without any changes to learn the system.  If you want to be a purist though, you could just print out the 1/1000 gauges at 111% and have everything in your scale.