• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Lardness

Lardness

Private

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 April 2019 - 07:45 AM

I've also put this question into the GQ3 forum as it covers the same topic & that forum may have more readers.....

I've been using the FAI rules for a few months & yesterday was playing solo with a flotilla of RN DDs against a division of HSF BBs (3rd BS, 5th Squadron).

This was mainly to try if RN DD tactics work, ie approach at about 30 degrees on the enemy bow & fire torpedoes at 3-5000 yards.

Clearly, the HSF BB secondary & tertiary armament would come into play. 

SMS Konig ship's drawings show 7 x 5.9" on each side, with 1 facing  directly for'd, 1 aft & the other 5 as broadside.

The tertiaries are 3 on each side, 2 facing for'd & 1 broadside.

The ship log for Konig has 4 secondary boxes for each side (each box representing a pair of guns, even though there were 7 historically, not 8). What would their arcs be... clearly the for'd 5.9" can definitely fire for'd & the aft definitely can't. The remainder will have a partial for'd arc.

How are these firing arcs be represented in the game? It would be fairly critical if launching a DD attack fine on the BB's bow with limited secondaries able to fire for'd?

Also, the tertiary battery is represented on the log is a single red box- does this mean because it was open sights it was pretty much useless at anything but the shortest range & mainly had AA ammunition??

#2 Brooks Witten

Brooks Witten

Private

• Members
  • 15 posts
  • LocationTexas, By God!

Posted 26 December 2019 - 12:07 AM

A bit late to the party, but I hope this reply helps.
Shipboard casemate guns are generally restricted to a 150 degree arc.  This is fairly represented by the 'broadside' on the arc of fire.