5 replies to this topic

#1 EdMorris

EdMorris

Private

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 May 2021 - 02:43 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Post Captain and Age of Sail gaming in general. A friend and I have decided to start with small actions so are concentrating on the War of 1812, we are currently building and painting HMS Shannon and the USS Chesapeake.

I've just purchased one of the packs of ships from Langton's Miniatures which includes a 58 gun (rasée'd 74) which looks to be HMS Saturn https://en.wikipedia...S_Saturn_(1786)

I've had a look through the Ship Cards and I couldn't find any suitable, I also don't feel that I would know what I was doing if I tried to create one myself.

Can anyone help?

#2 ProfGRP

ProfGRP

Private

• Members
  • 15 posts
  • LocationWaco, TX

Posted 10 May 2021 - 08:38 AM

Ed,

According to Lavery's The Ship of the Line, HMS Saturn was originally an Arrogant class 74. Arrogant is represented in the file Ship Cards-Squadron Actions R2. You could start with that configuration and modify it by changing the armament, hull, crew, marines and sailing qualities. The most obvious changes would be to eliminate the upper gundeck guns and to increase the 32C's to a 42C's. As a clue to what changes to make, you might compare the ship cards for Agamemnon (64) and Indefatigable (44). Agamemnon was an Ardent class 64, and Indy was a razeed Ardent.

Good luck.

Jerry

#3 EdMorris

EdMorris

Private

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 May 2021 - 10:24 AM

Hi Jerry,

Thank you for your response. It didn’t cross my mind to look for a different razeed ship and try to compare them. I’ll see what I can work out.

Thanks again,
Ed

#4 Lonnie Gill

Lonnie Gill

Captain

• ODGW Staff
  • 314 posts

Posted 11 May 2021 - 11:18 PM

G' Day Ed,