Photo

IS there a VERY simplified Version of the Game?

Simplified Rules Set

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 wlr107

wlr107

Private

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 November 2021 - 12:58 PM

I am a teacher in Norfolk, at Azalea Gardens Middle School. I have purchased two sets of the rules, hardcover and electronic version.

Norfolk school district has approved me to start a wargame club at my school! YEA! I have several students whop want to play ship to ship combat, but with middle schoolers and a 2 hour time limit, I need a VERY simplified set of rules. (Most of my students will be 6th and 7th graders).

Is there anyone who has a simplified set that I can use? Even a simpler ships log would be nice, as well as a log sheet with a spot to put the ship information on the top would be great!

Thanks for any guidance in advance!

Will Rogers

AGMS

#2 W. Clark

W. Clark

Major

• Members
  • 404 posts
  • LocationOregon, out in the sticks

Posted 23 November 2021 - 03:48 PM

My advice would be to keep it to cruisers and destroyers with each player only pushing one ship until they master the basics. You might even want to avoid torpedoes until they fully understand how to use the gunnery CRT including equivalent hits and how to apply damage. The other advice I would give is this. Each ship has its fight; long range gunnery, short ranged gunnery with rapid fire, torpedoes and what not. If they look at the game that way and then learn to figure out what each ship's fight is (including their opponent's) then they will quickly become very competent as a naval gamer and its a skill they can apply outside of gaming also.