Jump to content


Photo

Amendment 1: Gunfire CRT Adjustments


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Romain Breuer

Romain Breuer

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  • LocationLuxembourg

Posted 06 August 2008 - 05:37 AM

Rule 1.5.6 states two different things for shifting the range up 1 row.First it says to shift one range up when the firing ship alters her course by a 4 point or greater change of course.Then 4 rows down: Shift up for any ship changing course more than 2 points.So when a ship changes course between 2 and 4 points, do I shift up or not?

#2 Romain Breuer

Romain Breuer

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  • LocationLuxembourg

Posted 07 August 2008 - 05:25 AM

As I'm playing a game tomorrow, can someone please answer this question?Many thanks in advance.

#3 Adrian Dobb

Adrian Dobb

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 August 2008 - 09:11 AM

Hi Bob,I see what you mean. IMO I think the line 'Shift up for any ship changing course more than two points' is in error. Comparing the amendment with the original version which refers to the trigger being a 30 degree alteration of course it looks like the para should be a straight substitution of the 30 degrees for a 4 point course alteration (45 degrees) to being the cause of the shift. The original GQ3 does not have the line quoted above. On further comparison with FAI this has the additional clarification of any part of a second 4 point alteration causes a second shift. I.e that a 6 point course change causes a 2 row shift up in the FAI rules example. All three versions (GQ3/Amendment 1/FAI) say that minor course changes totalling 2 points (or 30 degrees in GQ3) do not cause an up shift.I have previously played that every 4 point turn causes a 1 shift upwards. I.e that 8 points, (90 degrees) are necessary to cause two up shifts etc.Hope this helps and this is all unofficial - simply my interpretation as a player.Adrian

#4 Adrian Dobb

Adrian Dobb

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 August 2008 - 09:27 AM

Further to the aboveHaving looked again I can see this doesn't help at all as it doesn't answer the three point turn question. Perhaps that is what the line I quoted is intended to clarify. All turns greater that two points cause a 1 shift upwards and after turns totalling 4 points every 4 point turn or part thereof causes a 1 shift upwards.so: 2 up to 4 points cause 1 shift.> 4 points up to 8 points cause 2 shifts>8 points up to 12 points cause 3 shifts> 12 forget it! Or similar.If I am wrong (more than likely) perhaps a chart like the above would help?

#5 Cpt M

Cpt M

    Colonel

  • ODGW Retired Staff
  • 939 posts

Posted 07 August 2008 - 02:51 PM

Rule 1.5.6 states two different things for shifting the range up 1 row.First it says to shift one range up when the firing ship alters her course by a 4 point or greater change of course.Then 4 rows down: Shift up for any ship changing course more than 2 points.So when a ship changes course between 2 and 4 points, do I shift up or not?

In GQ3, any course change over 2 points on the Turn Gauge will trigger the 1 row up shift (and only a 1 row up shift). So a ship can make a 6, 8, or whatever turn the adjustment will be only 1 row up. For course changes up to 2 points, there is no adjustment. In FAI, the impact of course changes on fire is more pronouced. For each 4 point change of course (or part of) causes a 1 row up shift. So if a ship executes a 6 point turn, the adjustment would be 2 rows up (1 the first 4 points plus 1 for the remaining 2 points). For a 10 point turn, the adjustment would be 3 rows up (2 for the first 8 points plus 1 for the remaining 2 points). As before, there is no penalty for course changes up to 2 points.Hope this helps...

#6 Adrian Dobb

Adrian Dobb

    Private

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 08 August 2008 - 06:34 AM

Thanks Coastal,Explains my muddle.

#7 Lonnie Gill

Lonnie Gill

    Captain

  • ODGW Staff
  • 321 posts

Posted 08 August 2008 - 05:14 PM

Yep, Coastal's on target here. The difference between the GQIII (WW II) adjustment and FAI (WW I) adjustment reflects the difference in the fire control systems of the two periods.

#8 Cpt M

Cpt M

    Colonel

  • ODGW Retired Staff
  • 939 posts

Posted 08 August 2008 - 07:37 PM

> 12 forget it!

So very true! You hit it straight on the head. In FAI, if you're out carving donuts in the deep blue sea, then the only thing you'll hit is the deep blue sea! (And royally tick off your fire control crew!)

#9 Romain Breuer

Romain Breuer

    Corporal

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  • LocationLuxembourg

Posted 12 August 2008 - 07:10 AM

So friday evening we played the battle of the Denmark Strait, Hood and Prince of Wales against Bismarck and Prinz Eugen.No historical result, as in turn 6, Bismarck took a critical to her main turret and in turn 7 another three critical to her turrets.So without a main battery, she was out of the battle.But what struck me was that Prinz Eugen is totally useless in this battle,as she cannot damage the Hood or the Prince of Wales with her 8" guns using the equivalent damage rolls.Or did we something wrong?

#10 gregoryk

gregoryk

    GQ3 Product Manager

  • ODGW Retired Staff
  • 1,048 posts

Posted 12 August 2008 - 09:50 AM

Not at all. By all rights, Bismarck should have lost this engagement, which is why Hood and Prince of Wales engaged so readily. It was a fluke that took out Hood and the total morale failure of Prince of Wales that followed which decided the battle. One of the reasons that an Optional rule for Force Morale was included in The Solomons Campaign was just for this contingency.Gregory




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users