Gentlemen,
Again, I would like to ask a question regarding night combat, for which I hope there is a simple answer. Rule 1.12.5 says that starshells can be fired to illuminate contacts and targets. Rule 1.12.3 says (radar) blips illuminated by starshells ... are automatically acquired. My question is, if I detect, but not acquire, a radar contact in the Detection Phase, can I fire a starshell at it in the immediately following Gunnery Phase, automatically acquire it as a target, then immediately fire at it in the same Gunnery Phase? The same question applies to searchlights.
Thanks,
Tom.