Jump to content


Photo

Night Combat Questions


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Rod Thayer

Rod Thayer

    Private

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 07:59 AM

I have some basic questions about Night Combat. 1. My understanding is that detection/acquisition for each division is not re-rolled every game turn. Once an enemy division is visually acquired by a friendly division(or radar detected) it remains so as long as it remains in the range band that was orginally rolled for it during the detection phase and this number should recorded. Is that correct?2. I am confused by the column shifts on the Dark Acquisition table. As an example, let's say there is a Qtr Moon and a roll of 7 is made on the U.S. Dark Acquisition table. This player is attempting to acquire (or switch targets) a Japanese force that has fired. Gun flashes shift two columns to the left. That is where my confusion lies. A basic 7 roll acquires a target out to 8,000 yds. If I switch two columns Left I'm either at 4,000 yds for the range or if you mean shift the result only then the target is automatically acquired. If I go by the result only does that mean that I move the 7 result also out two columns to the RIGHT (i.e. to 16,000 yds for a 7 roll).3. The way I read it is that when an enemy division is visually acquired, all ships of the friendly division automatically acquire for targeting purposes the closest enemy vessel to the flagship. But ALL enemy ships in that division are acquired visually. So to switch targets the player must roll on the Dark Acquisition table and roll within the initial acquistion range band to successfully switch. Again column shifts may come into play. Is this correct?Sorry if these are basic but after reading these boards it seems that many players are interpreting these rules differently.

#2 Cpt M

Cpt M

    Colonel

  • ODGW Retired Staff
  • 939 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 08:42 PM

Night acquisition rules are almost always somewhat painful to understand and use (and that applies to all naval rules, not just GQ3, which are fairly painless) due to the nature of the beast. So, by all means, don’t feel alone if something doesn’t quite click on the first (or, if you’re like me, the second, or third) read through. Believe me, we’ve all been there!

1. My understanding is that detection/acquisition for each division is not re-rolled every game turn. Once an enemy division is visually acquired by a friendly division(or radar detected) it remains so as long as it remains in the range band that was orginally rolled for it during the detection phase and this number should recorded. Is that correct?

This is partly correct; re-acquisition is not necessary once a target formation (or target ship, if it’s a single ship) has been acquired. A target will cease to be acquired once the range has opened beyond the maximum sighting range (not just beyond the acquisition range band) or the line of sight has been blocked (by an intervening ship, land mass, rain squall, etc.).What this represents is the tendency to be able to keep an object in view once it has been acquired and recognized, even if the range is beyond what the acquisition range would be if the object were to be newly acquired. (We’ve all experienced this phenomenon, especially on a pitch-black night.)

2. I am confused by the column shifts on the Dark Acquisition table. As an example, let's say there is a Qtr Moon and a roll of 7 is made on the U.S. Dark Acquisition table. This player is attempting to acquire (or switch targets) a Japanese force that has fired. Gun flashes shift two columns to the left. That is where my confusion lies. A basic 7 roll acquires a target out to 8,000 yds. If I switch two columns Left I'm either at 4,000 yds for the range or if you mean shift the result only then the target is automatically acquired. If I go by the result only does that mean that I move the 7 result also out two columns to the RIGHT (i.e. to 16,000 yds for a 7 roll).

First, you may want to download the Amendment 1 updates (available free in the download section) as some of the acquisition ranges have changed slightly. Amendment 1 was brought out after the first year to tweak certain aspects of the tables and percentages and is based on a years worth of feedback from the gaming community (think of it as refining the game). They’re not necessary, however, to play the game, as most of the changes are minor.Since your example is based on the original tables (the ones that come with rules), we’ll use those to answer your question. Basically, you’re correct; but to be sure, let’s run through the examples.Ok, you have a USN force attempting to acquire an IJN force that has fired. The conditions are quarter moon (Qtr Moon). First, you’ll need to measure the range; let’s assume its 7500 yds. Next, since 7500 yds is in the 8000 yds column, you would use this column with the Qtr Moon row. The resulting normal probability for sighting the IJN force would be ‘1-8’ but, since the IJN has fired, you shift the probability 2 columns to the left (the 4000 yds column), which results in an ‘Acquired’ (or automatic) result. Now, since you rolled a 7, you would’ve sighted the IJN force at 7500 yds, firing or not, since the normal probability of acquiring the target is 1-8 (of course, if you had rolled a 9+, then you wouldn’t have seen them, which might be bad for you, especially if the IJN player is settling up a torpedo attack!). Ok, now let’s assume the range is 11500 yds (all other conditions the same). Now you’re on the 12000 yds column, which has a normal probability of 1-5. Since the IJN fired, you would shift 2 columns to the left and use the probability from the 8000 yds column (1-8). With your 7 roll, you would acquire the IJN. (And, of course, if the IJN hadn’t fired, you wouldn’t have acquired the IJN target since you need 1-5).In all cases, you shift the probability of acquiring the target, not the range. And the determining factor for acquisition is the range to the target since all acquisition is done from one sighting ship to one target ship (or formation).

3. The way I read it is that when an enemy division is visually acquired, all ships of the friendly division automatically acquire for targeting purposes the closest enemy vessel to the flagship. But ALL enemy ships in that division are acquired visually. So to switch targets the player must roll on the Dark Acquisition table and roll within the initial acquistion range band to successfully switch. Again column shifts may come into play. Is this correct?

Correct. What you have here is the flagship passing the sighting report ‘down the line’ to the other division ships, thereby making them aware of the target. To fire on another target (other than the one closest to the flag), each ship would have to acquire that separate target. What this represents is the tendency for all ships in a division to open up on the closest sighted ship instead of switching to other targets further away (and make better use of their firepower). This over concentration on the closest target was a very common problem in night actions (especially for those not extensively trained in night combat, such as the USN in the early Solomons night battles; the IJN, being much more highly trained in night combat rarely made this error). If you have any other questions or have any follow-up on this, please feel free to ask away (that’s what we’re here for!).

#3 Rod Thayer

Rod Thayer

    Private

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 December 2008 - 09:27 AM

Thanks Coastal! You cleared up my confusion regarding the column shifts. I was thinking too much along the lines of determining maximum acquisition range, not range to a specific target. And then adding to the confusion by combining this target acquisition determination with maximum sighting range.I do have the Amendment 1 updates - I just happened to glance at the original chart when framing my example. My bad. :dry:

#4 William Betts

William Betts

    Private

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 27 March 2010 - 08:28 AM

Hi,Just to confirm the switching targets: I have three ships in line ahead with my opponent having 3 in line ahead as well on an opposite course. I roll an acquired result.1. My three ships spot his lead ship only? 2. Can I choose to fire only my lead ship so as to not incure the 2+ batteries penalty?3. On the next turn can I roll for my 2nd ship to spot his next ship? And my 3rd to spot his 3rd?Thanks,Bill

#5 Lonnie Gill

Lonnie Gill

    Captain

  • ODGW Staff
  • 321 posts

Posted 15 April 2010 - 06:41 PM

Bill,The answers to your questions are as follows:1. The answer depends on what you mean by “spot.” When a division flagship detects an opposing division via radar, the detected division has its formation marker replaced by “blip” coins determined by the quality of the radar as described in rule Section 1.12.3. When the flagship visually acquires the opposing division, deploy the opposing miniatures. But, I think the crux of your question relates to making gunnery attacks. Rule Section 1.12.6 provides that when the flagship acquires a target formation, all ships in her division automatically acquire the closest target vessel and can engage her. This is a simulation of the fire distribution that occurred historically. As engagements went on, things tended to get straightened out to the type of fire distribution the division would have employed if they had the full situational awareness we, as gamers, have looking at the miniatures in the tactical area. Having to dice to switch targets simulates that confusion and difficulties in acquiring other targets made this tough.2. Yes, you can choose to only fire your lead ship to avoid incurring the 2+ battery penalty. The only qualifier to that is when fratricide is involved. Rule Section 1.12.7 is designed to ensure that a target is fully engaged for one Game Turn, even though the gamer would like to avoid making the attack(s).3. Yes, on the subsequent Game Turn(s), your second ship can roll to acquire a different target, etc. As provided in rule Section 1.12.6, if the ADR (acquisition die roll) fails, the second ship can still engage the original target or withhold fire.I trust this clarifies how targets are engaged in night actions. Simulating the confusion and limited visibility of night actions requires carefully employing the rules in Section 1.12 that sometimes result in things that the gamer, with the complete picture, does not want.LONNIE

#6 Dave Franklin

Dave Franklin

    Captain

  • Members
  • 341 posts
  • LocationColorado Springs CO

Posted 19 April 2010 - 08:04 AM

I'm not sure I agree with #2, that you can choose to only have the lead ship fire, and the others hold fire. As stated, what tended to happen historically was the lead target would be concentrated on. Also, if you're American, or one of the other nationalities without flashless powder, you'll illuminate yourself. As a player you might not want to do that, but that smacks of too much control in a night action to me.

#7 William Betts

William Betts

    Private

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 19 April 2010 - 12:59 PM

Good point co-driver, I think you are correct and I should have all ships with a LOS fire at the just spotted ship.

#8 Lonnie Gill

Lonnie Gill

    Captain

  • ODGW Staff
  • 321 posts

Posted 21 April 2010 - 06:29 PM

Bravo both of you. I guess I've been spending too much time with lawyers (sea, rules, etc.) lately! The intent of the rule is for all ships in the acquiring division to open fire, simulating the unintended confusion and concentration that occured historically in most night actions. Since you can actually see the miniatures in the tactical area, you have a situational awarness that historical comanders didn't. Hence, it is important to enter into the spirit of the rule to reflect the constraints that an imperfect or partial view of what's actually going on entails. Therefore, I will revise my previous answer to question number 2 to say that all ships in the acquiring division must engage the closest acquired target in the Game Turn in which the division opens fire. Thereafter, captains may attempt to acquire different targets as previously stated.Thanks for the reminder to stay on course,LONNIE




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users