Jump to content


Photo

Several Ships Bombarding One Target


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Carl Christensen

Carl Christensen

    Private

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 December 2008 - 03:28 PM

Here's a question about multiple ships attacking a single target.Several DD's s are firing at the same target with their gun mounts. They have the same range, gun size, and modifiers. Can I add all of the gun mounts together from the ships, calculate the number of dice to roll, roll all of the dice together or must I roll each ship individually?Likewise:Several DD's hit the same ship. Can I add all of the hits from the ships of the same size weapon together when calculating equivalent damage or must each ship's hits be calculated individually?Carl

#2 Dave Franklin

Dave Franklin

    Captain

  • Members
  • 296 posts
  • LocationColorado Springs CO

Posted 25 December 2008 - 04:47 AM

You do each ship's shot individually.Admittedly it won't matter a lot of the time. Where it does matter is if/when you get results of a half, either in number of dice to roll or in equivalent hits. For example, I believe the strict official answer if you get down to just a half a die to throw is you don't get to roll at all, but you're now "on target" for the next turn (admittedly here I am speaking from the experience of the WWII GQ3 Gunnery Table/day time modifiers). Same for equvalent hits, if a ship gets a 1/2 result, you roll again: e.g. even you get 1 hit, odd you don't.

#3 Cpt M

Cpt M

    Colonel

  • ODGW Staff
  • 941 posts

Posted 25 December 2008 - 10:54 AM

Several DD's s are firing at the same target with their gun mounts. They have the same range, gun size, and modifiers. Can I add all of the gun mounts together from the ships, calculate the number of dice to roll, roll all of the dice together or must I roll each ship individually?Likewise:Several DD's hit the same ship. Can I add all of the hits from the ships of the same size weapon together when calculating equivalent damage or must each ship's hits be calculated individually?

Normally, you would resolve each attack and it's effect individually for each firing ship; you would not combine the rolls of several ships together.The exception to this is when using the 'Fleet Action' rules with the Divisional DD cards. When using this option you basically roll for the division as a whole as opposed to each DD within the division. You would combine the gun attacks of all the ships within the division as a single attack against a single target with a single 'to hit' roll. Also, a Division of DDs receives damage a whole (for an example of this, see the 'Fleet Action' box on page 7-12).The 'Fleet Action' rules came about as a means of streamlining the combat procedures when using the large number of DDs so common is some WWI battles. When using this option, it should be agreed upon prior to play and apply to all DD flotillas in use. (Imagine running some 30+ DDs in 5+ divisions with all that die roling and you'll appreciate why this option was developed!) With regards to the '1/2 die' result: Co_diver is correct; if the resulting 'to hit' roll drops below a '1/2', then the shot is ineffective and ignored.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users