Jump to content


Photo

what happens if all transports are lost


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Andrew Burton

Andrew Burton

    Private

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 08 July 2010 - 04:13 AM

I was playing as the Americans and caught all of the Japanese transports in a supply mission with a carrier strike force and sank them all, what happens to the Japanese if you do destroy all of their transports is the game over or what. Yes was a pure luck strike, to find and kill all of the transports. But what happens next if you do get all of the transports. Would it be better to run them off the board if caught by carrier planes, or at least try to run them off the board and retreat.Thanks Andrew

#2 Michael Farley

Michael Farley

    Private

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 July 2010 - 07:13 PM

My reading of the rules is that you go on as the Japanese player can still run supply missions with the DD's Tho at a redused attack capacity, see engagment F( which brings another question...).

#3 Blue Leader

Blue Leader

    Major

  • Deactivated
  • 400 posts

Posted 16 September 2010 - 05:24 PM

andrew wrote:

I was playing as the Americans and caught all of the Japanese transports in a supply mission with a carrier strike force and sank them all, what happens to the Japanese if you do destroy all of their transports is the game over or what. Yes was a pure luck strike, to find and kill all of the transports. But what happens next if you do get all of the transports. Would it be better to run them off the board if caught by carrier planes, or at least try to run them off the board and retreat.Thanks Andrew

The Japanese player can use DD's as transports.

#4 Andrew Burton

Andrew Burton

    Private

  • Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 03:02 PM

what happens if you are the Americas and loose all of your transports, is the game over or what, or just use destroyers?

#5 Blue Leader

Blue Leader

    Major

  • Deactivated
  • 400 posts

Posted 29 September 2010 - 05:23 PM

andrew wrote:

what happens if you are the Americas and loose all of your transports, is the game over or what, or just use destroyers?

for the Allies only. Give them three more transports, as there was no shortage.

#6 Aman

Aman

    Sergeant

  • Members
  • 112 posts

Posted 04 December 2011 - 11:32 PM

in reading the books on Guadalcanal, it seems that there was a general shortage of _everything_ in the theater, including ships of all types. The USN certainly acted as though the transports would not be easily replaced.

Perhaps it might be more "fair" to say that the USN player can replace three reinforcing DDs with transports?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users