Jump to content


Target Not Engaged

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 stephenluscombe



  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 August 2016 - 04:03 AM

Does anyone use the GQIII optional rule of not being engaged allowing the CRT to go down one level for their World War One games at all?



#2 pyruse



  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 22 August 2016 - 04:39 AM

Yes - it gives an incentive to engage all the enemy ships.

#3 Andrew Siviter

Andrew Siviter


  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 September 2019 - 06:19 PM

What do you count as "being engaged"?  Any old tertiart "popgun" or something capable of doing damage?

#4 Brooks Witten

Brooks Witten


  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • LocationTexas, By God!

Posted 30 December 2019 - 02:41 PM

'Engaged' is "Engaged."

If in a cruiser action those 'tertiary' guns are effective and historically draw the attention of the crew.  This is the entire purpose of the "engaged" rule.

However if you're talking dreadnoughts, then while secondaries should count for engagement, for tertiary guns the answer is emphatically "No."
(Note that if your dreadnoughts are closing to secondary range, your Admiral should be "cashiered" for the good of the service.)

Their crews are behind armor which will effectively 'shrug-off' those small caliber hits.
This is especially applicable to 'night action' where light forces can finally close within range of capital ships without being immolated.  Unlike WWII, the ships of the Great War do not have the extensive superstructures and flammable materials upon which smaller guns are effective.

Please allow me to suggest a close inspection of the light forces and flotillas at the Battle of Jutland.  The day action reports are enlightening, but the night action, when the High Seas Fleet passes through the cruiser/destroyer screen of the Grand Fleet, is especially instructive.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users