Jump to content


Photo

Gunnery during movement


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Adam H. Jones III

Adam H. Jones III

    Private

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 09:03 AM

I need to clarify gunnery during movement.  Here is the rule as written in Section 5 Gunnery:

 

"Captains can make gunnery attacks at any point in the Red, White, or Blue Tactical Phases, provided their guns are loaded, the target is visible and within the AoF.  Movement is temporarily suspended when a captain announces he is firing some or all of his batteries.  The attack is resolved with damage assessed before resuming movement to complete the Tactical Phase.  If the target captain replies :returning fire" resolve as simultaneous attacks with damage effective after both ship's attacks are completed.  Otherwise, attacks are sequential"

 

The confusion in our games is whether only the MOVING  player's ship may fire during the Tactical Phase with any TARGET ship fired upon by the MOVING ship being able to "return fire" as per the rule above OR can ANY player's ship...moving or not may fire at any target that meets the criterion above during the Tactical Phase.

 

For example...Ship A is the moving ship for the Tactical Phase.  Before ship A begins moving, can any non moving ship from either side that meets the gunnery requirement above declare fire against available targets...which would suspend ship A's intended movement as ALL of the other gunnery attacks are resolved.

 

Thanks in advance

 

Adam Jones.



#2 Cpt M

Cpt M

    Colonel

  • ODGW Staff
  • 912 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 10:19 PM

The rule applies to ANY ship, whether the moving player's ship or the opposing player's non-moving ship.  This avoids potentially "gamey" situations where a ship zips along pass another ship during its move and avoids fire.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users