Jump to content


Photo

Engagement sequence


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 tolstoy1807

tolstoy1807

    Private

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 January 2019 - 12:06 PM

When resolving engagements, am I right to think that you use the Engagement Resolution chart to resolve engagements in sequence, starting from the top, CG vs CG? If there's no CG vs CG, then you go to the next line, No CG vs CG; if none here, then to CG vs. no CG, and so on?

 

 

So on the turn record, what you write down are your four command decisions, including both naval and non-naval command decisions, and the ship groups assigned to each one. If the Japanese send out a CG1 and CG2, these would appear on the same line item in the turn record, because both are CG missions. Correct?

 

 

I quote engagement C:

 

If Henderson Field fell and the IJN sorties a CGES, roll once for each Carrier Group to randomly determine the Allied
surface mission attacked. Duplicates are possible. If attacked and damaged, the target force aborts its mission.

 

What's a CGES, and is it a CG mission or what? How is it different from any other CG mission? Do you have to designate it as a CGES, or can it start life as a CG mission? I just don't get it.

 

 

The rules seem to indicate that a cruiser squadron can be part of several missions in a single month. So a Japanese cruiser squadron can be part of a CG mission, a Bt mission, and a P mission? In that way, it MIGHT be in combat twice in a month, depending on the Matrix outcomes? OR: a Japanese CV can be part of a CG mission and a CGES mission, which I assume means it isn't a CG mission at all but at escort mission or what?



#2 Dave Franklin

Dave Franklin

    Captain

  • Members
  • 268 posts
  • LocationColorado Springs CO

Posted 30 January 2019 - 09:07 AM

When resolving engagements, am I right to think that you use the Engagement Resolution chart to resolve engagements in sequence, starting from the top, CG vs CG? If there's no CG vs CG, then you go to the next line, No CG vs CG; if none here, then to CG vs. no CG, and so on?

 

  • Pretty sure that is so.  From page 5 under Engagement Resolution: "Players proceed down the list of Engagements for each Monthly Turn in order and note whether their Command Decision codes match. Sometimes these will be negatives matches, such as “no CG.” If there is a match in the mission codes, “Go to” the listed Engagement letter on the Engagement Resolution Chart and follow the instructions. It does not matter who rolls for the Engagements."

 

What's a CGES, and is it a CG mission or what? How is it different from any other CG mission? Do you have to designate it as a CGES, or can it start life as a CG mission? I just don't get it.

  • CGES appears to be a CG doing "Espiritu Santo interdiction".  It is a specific Japanese CD listed on Monthly Turn V and Monthly Turn VI.

 

The rules seem to indicate that a cruiser squadron can be part of several missions in a single month. So a Japanese cruiser squadron can be part of a CG mission, a Bt mission, and a P mission? In that way, it MIGHT be in combat twice in a month, depending on the Matrix outcomes? OR: a Japanese CV can be part of a CG mission and a CGES mission, which I assume means it isn't a CG mission at all but at escort mission or what?

  • On page 3 it states "Ships based at Rabaul may conduct two missions per Monthly Turn. All Allied ships may conduct two missions per Monthly Turn. Naval missions determined by Theater Events do not count against the Monthly Turn limit unless specified."  So for your question "a Japanese cruiser squadron can be part of a CG mission, a Bt mission, and a P mission", I believe the answer would be no, since 1) it can't be planned for 3 missions, and 2) if planned for a 'Bt' mission it must be based at Truk and thus can only be planned for one mission.
  • As far as a Japanese CV being be part of a CG mission and a CGES mission, that's an interesting question.  I guess the CV and its escorts would have to be based at Rabaul, in order to be able to be planned for two missions.  Beyond that, I don't see anything that would prevent it.

 

Hopefully you'll get "official" answers from the real "powers that be"...






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users