Jump to content


IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT

ODGW has recently experienced a catastrophic event with our website.


Please Click Here for more information


Photo

Questions and more questions


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Mokman

Mokman

    Private

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 24 February 2022 - 04:24 PM

We have been playing for a couple of weeks now and have come up with a list of questions.

 

1.  What becomes of a hit where the ship does not have the rolled item (ie the ship does not have floatplanes but that is the damage result)?  Is it simply ignored?

 

2.  Similarly, what becomes of a hit when the rolled location has already been previously destroyed?  Hull Boxes, Fires and Bulkheads appear to be the only hits that can be accumulated multiple times.

 

3.  When a ship has a half hull box marked how is a new full hull box marked off?  Does half of the new full hull box fill in with the current half-marked box and then the remaining half marks a new box?  Or does the new full box just over-write the half box?

 

4.  When a ship takes damage that reduces its maximum speed but it is currently traveling faster than that speed how is the speed adjusted for the next turn?  Does it just become the new lower speed?  Or does it decrease incrementally to that speed over a number of turns at the regular deceleration rate (5 or 10 knots)?

 

5.  The Bridge critical hit says the ship must steam straight for a turn while control is moved.  What about changes in speed for that turn?

 

6.  When a ship's Morale is broken and it must withdraw the rules say it can engage ships that are attacking it.  Since gunnery happens simultaneously and all targeting is determined before any attacks are resolved, how does the withdrawing ship know which ship(s) is going to be attacking it and therefore which are legal targets for it to plot an attack against?

 

7.  The Explosive result on Cargo Hold hits can set a fire onboard but there is no mention of hull boxes being marked off because of the fire (as all other fires do).  Should there be any marked off?

 

8.  The rule for Rapid Fire states that 11's and 12's are added to the 1+ 2 and 1+ 3 probabilities but many Gunfire CRT's show Rapid Fire is available at the 1+ probability.  Per the rule nothing gets added at 1+ so in fact Rapid Fire at that probability does nothing.  What is correct here?

 

9.  Looking at the math for multiple torpedoes in a spread hitting, it seems true that the last torpedo in the spread can never hit the original target?  Let's assume a spread of 3 torpedoes.  The first hits on whatever the CRT probability is.  If the rolled result is 1 or 2 (less than the spread) there is a chance that additional torpedoes hit.  The second torpedo hits if a new roll, +1 for the previous torpedo, is less than the spread of 3.  Therefore it can only hit on a roll of 1 (+1 for a total of 2 which is less than 3).  Now the third torpedo can hit if a new roll, +2 for the previous 2 torpedoes, is less than the spread of 3.  This is impossible to do as with the +2 the lowest possible result is 3, which is not less than the spread.  Is this correct?  If so this makes spreads of 2 torpedoes kind of odd.  You can never hit the primary target with both torpedoes.  All you can hope for is a second ship further back in the LoF being hit by the second torpedo.

 

10.  I noticed there is mention in marking off main battery boxes and cargo holds that each one of a particular type should be marked off once before any are marked off a second time.  What effect does marking off a main battery (for example) a second time have?  Isn't it simply destroyed with the first hit and that is it?  Or is this just a slightly cryptic way of saying you cannot chose to mark a destroyed main battery if there are any unmarked ones available?

 

11.  Is having lost all power from Engineering hits different from being DIW?  The description of Engineering hits says the ship loses power with the second hit but is not DIW till the fourth.  Max speed is reduced after the first hit but what are the effects of having "lost power" with the second hit?  The only effect I see is guns larger than 5.1" cannot fire.  So the ship can still steam freely with no power?  Just at the reduced speed?  Its speed is not reduced to zero when it has lost power?  *Which sounds a lot like dead in the water to me.*  Do other electrical things like Radar work while power is lost?  Are DCT's out and therefore batteries smaller than 5.1" fire on local control and shift two rows up on the Gunnery CRT?  In other words I do not find a good concise definition anywhere of what the conditions "lost all power" and DIW mean.

 

12.  The Fire Control hit says it takes out a DCT and Radar Fire Control.  Is the RFC taken out on any DCT hit or just when the second or only DCT is hit?

 

13.  When Altering Course within Minimum Range says it can be done when close to an opposing ship, does that mean only enemy ships or any ship?  In other words, can you still alter course if you goof up plots of allied ships and get too close, or is it only when enemy ships get too close?



#2 Dave Franklin

Dave Franklin

    Captain

  • Members
  • 297 posts
  • LocationColorado Springs CO

Posted 25 February 2022 - 10:14 AM

Here's my attempt at answering your questions:

 

1.  What becomes of a hit where the ship does not have the rolled item (ie the ship does not have floatplanes but that is the damage result)?  Is it simply ignored?

 

Yes, it is ignored.

 

2.  Similarly, what becomes of a hit when the rolled location has already been previously destroyed?  Hull Boxes, Fires and Bulkheads appear to be the only hits that can be accumulated multiple times.

 

Hits on items/systems that are already hit/destroyed are “blackened in”, indicating they can no longer be repaired during the engagement.

 

3.  When a ship has a half hull box marked how is a new full hull box marked off?  Does half of the new full hull box fill in with the current half-marked box and then the remaining half marks a new box?  Or does the new full box just over-write the half box?

 

Mark off the remaining half hull box, then half of the next hull box.

 

4.  When a ship takes damage that reduces its maximum speed but it is currently traveling faster than that speed how is the speed adjusted for the next turn?  Does it just become the new lower speed?  Or does it decrease incrementally to that speed over a number of turns at the regular deceleration rate (5 or 10 knots)?

 

I have seen it played both ways.  My group usually plays the normal deceleration rule.

 

5.  The Bridge critical hit says the ship must steam straight for a turn while control is moved.  What about changes in speed for that turn?

 

Change of speed is not listed as being affected, so speed can be changed.

 

6.  When a ship's Morale is broken and it must withdraw the rules say it can engage ships that are attacking it.  Since gunnery happens simultaneously and all targeting is determined before any attacks are resolved, how does the withdrawing ship know which ship(s) is going to be attacking it and therefore which are legal targets for it to plot an attack against?

 

In a previous thread, it was discussed how players use “salvo markers” to indicate which ships are being targeted.  So we play if your broken/disengaging ship is targeted, it can fire back.  Note: we also add that a ship should make smoke if possible, as part of its disengagement.

 

7.  The Explosive result on Cargo Hold hits can set a fire onboard but there is no mention of hull boxes being marked off because of the fire (as all other fires do).  Should there be any marked off?

 

Yes, all cargo fires mark off hull boxes if not extinguished in subsequent Damage Control Phases.  The only “fires” that do not cause damage are the “small fires” caused by EDR Illumination – optional rule 1.12.11.

 

8.  The rule for Rapid Fire states that 11's and 12's are added to the 1+ 2 and 1+ 3 probabilities but many Gunfire CRT's show Rapid Fire is available at the 1+ probability.  Per the rule nothing gets added at 1+ so in fact Rapid Fire at that probability does nothing.  What is correct here?

 

This question is definitely covered on the forum – I asked it back in 2016.  Rapid fire is available based on the range/”reverse print” on the CRTs.  So with a normal 1+ hit probability, Rapid fire would allow you to hit on 1, 10, 11 & 12.

 

9.  Looking at the math for multiple torpedoes in a spread hitting, it seems true that the last torpedo in the spread can never hit the original target?  Let's assume a spread of 3 torpedoes.  The first hits on whatever the CRT probability is.  If the rolled result is 1 or 2 (less than the spread) there is a chance that additional torpedoes hit.  The second torpedo hits if a new roll, +1 for the previous torpedo, is less than the spread of 3.  Therefore it can only hit on a roll of 1 (+1 for a total of 2 which is less than 3).  Now the third torpedo can hit if a new roll, +2 for the previous 2 torpedoes, is less than the spread of 3.  This is impossible to do as with the +2 the lowest possible result is 3, which is not less than the spread.  Is this correct?  If so this makes spreads of 2 torpedoes kind of odd.  You can never hit the primary target with both torpedoes.  All you can hope for is a second ship further back in the LoF being hit by the second torpedo.

 

I believe you have it correct.

 

10.  I noticed there is mention in marking off main battery boxes and cargo holds that each one of a particular type should be marked off once before any are marked off a second time.  What effect does marking off a main battery (for example) a second time have?  Isn't it simply destroyed with the first hit and that is it?  Or is this just a slightly cryptic way of saying you cannot chose to mark a destroyed main battery if there are any unmarked ones available?

 

In GQ3, I believe it is, as you say, a “slightly cryptic way of saying” you cannot choose to mark off (“blacken in”) an already marked off item if there are still unmarked ones available.  I believe this is more of an issue in FAI, since I believe there are cases in FAI where main battery boxes can be repaired.  Not 100% sure since I don’t play WWI/FAI.

 

11.  Is having lost all power from Engineering hits different from being DIW?  The description of Engineering hits says the ship loses power with the second hit but is not DIW till the fourth.  Max speed is reduced after the first hit but what are the effects of having "lost power" with the second hit?  The only effect I see is guns larger than 5.1" cannot fire.  So the ship can still steam freely with no power?  Just at the reduced speed?  Its speed is not reduced to zero when it has lost power?  *Which sounds a lot like dead in the water to me.*  Do other electrical things like Radar work while power is lost?  Are DCT's out and therefore batteries smaller than 5.1" fire on local control and shift two rows up on the Gunnery CRT?  In other words I do not find a good concise definition anywhere of what the conditions "lost all power" and DIW mean.

 

If the ship has “lost all power” from Engineering hits, she is DIW (i.e. speed 0) until repaired (if possible).  IMO what is missing in the last sentence in the rules is the word “permanently”.  It would thus read “A fourth hit would knockout her remaining engineering spaces, leaving her permanently DIW until towed to a dockyard.”

 

12.  The Fire Control hit says it takes out a DCT and Radar Fire Control.  Is the RFC taken out on any DCT hit or just when the second or only DCT is hit?

 

RFC is knocked out on any DCT hit.

 

13.  When Altering Course within Minimum Range says it can be done when close to an opposing ship, does that mean only enemy ships or any ship?  In other words, can you still alter course if you goof up plots of allied ships and get too close, or is it only when enemy ships get too close?

 

I believe in this case, “opposing ship” can be friendly or enemy – i.e. it is the opposing ship from yours that you are trying to avoid.

 

Hope this helps,

Dave



#3 W. Clark

W. Clark

    Captain

  • Members
  • 335 posts
  • LocationOregon, out in the sticks

Posted 09 April 2022 - 03:13 AM

My understanding of engine hits are; If the ship has one engine it is DIW until repaired. If it takes a second engine hit before being repaired, it requires a tow to a dockyard for repair.

 

However most (if not all) warships have two engine spaces. If such a ship takes an engine hit it is reduced to the yellow hull box until repaired. If it takes a second hit before repaired it is DIW and ship board repairs can only get it to back to its reduced speed. I suppose a better way to put it is one hit, repairable; 2 hits before ship board repair causes the first hit to be permanent. If the second engine space is hit twice before it is repaired then you require a tow.  






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users