Jump to content


Photo

strikes and targeted groups


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 tolstoy1807

tolstoy1807

    Private

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 January 2019 - 05:25 PM

Quoting from Engagement A:

 

If a side
with two groups has the advantage or both sides launch simultaneously, the side(s) with two groups decides which group
launches (and is targeted).

 

I don't understand "which group launches (and is targeted)."  Does this mean that a group that launches must be the target of the enemy's simultaneous launch? The "launches (and is targeted" isn't clear.

 

What I think it means: if you have 2 groups and the advantage, you launch only one strike; if combat is simultaneous, each side launches only one strike regardless of whether it has one or two groups. In any case, if the enemy has two groups and you're launching a strike, you choose which enemy group to target. All groups in A are, of course, CG groups. When this round is completed, make another acquisition table die roll. Continue until battle ends. Also, if you have one group and the advantage, you launch your strike, and if the enemy has two groups, you get to choose which enemy group to target.

 

In other words, under Engagement A, whenever you launch an air strike, and you have two enemy CG targets to choose from, you get to choose which enemy CG to target. In any case, a side may launch only one strike (i.e. from one of his CG) per air round.

 

In any case, a side launching an air strike gets a scouting report before deciding which enemy group to target. Scouting would be in the main rules?

 

Correct?



#2 Dave Franklin

Dave Franklin

    Captain

  • Members
  • 276 posts
  • LocationColorado Springs CO

Posted 30 January 2019 - 09:34 AM

if you have 2 groups and the advantage, you launch only one strike; - pretty sure that's correct

 

if combat is simultaneous, each side launches only one strike regardless of whether it has one or two groups. - pretty sure that's correct

 

In any case, if the enemy has two groups and you're launching a strike, you choose which enemy group to target. - only if you have the advantage, if the enemy with two groups has the advantage, or if it's simultaneous, the enemy chooses

 

All groups in A are, of course, CG groups. When this round is completed, make another acquisition table die roll. Continue until battle ends. - pretty sure that's correct

 

Also, if you have one group and the advantage, you launch your strike, and if the enemy has two groups, you get to choose which enemy group to target. pretty sure that's correct

 

In other words, under Engagement A, whenever you launch an air strike, and you have two enemy CG targets to choose from, you get to choose which enemy CG to target. - again, only if you have the advantage

 

In any case, a side may launch only one strike (i.e. from one of his CG) per air round. pretty sure that's correct

 

In any case, a side launching an air strike gets a scouting report before deciding which enemy group to target. - I think this is correct.  For example, the results of the Scouting Report can give the U.S. the chance to avoid targeting an IJN "decoy" CG with no CVs.

 

Scouting would be in the main rules? - The main GQ3.3 rules, correct.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users