Quoting from Engagement A:
If a side
with two groups has the advantage or both sides launch simultaneously, the side(s) with two groups decides which group
launches (and is targeted).
I don't understand "which group launches (and is targeted)." Does this mean that a group that launches must be the target of the enemy's simultaneous launch? The "launches (and is targeted" isn't clear.
What I think it means: if you have 2 groups and the advantage, you launch only one strike; if combat is simultaneous, each side launches only one strike regardless of whether it has one or two groups. In any case, if the enemy has two groups and you're launching a strike, you choose which enemy group to target. All groups in A are, of course, CG groups. When this round is completed, make another acquisition table die roll. Continue until battle ends. Also, if you have one group and the advantage, you launch your strike, and if the enemy has two groups, you get to choose which enemy group to target.
In other words, under Engagement A, whenever you launch an air strike, and you have two enemy CG targets to choose from, you get to choose which enemy CG to target. In any case, a side may launch only one strike (i.e. from one of his CG) per air round.
In any case, a side launching an air strike gets a scouting report before deciding which enemy group to target. Scouting would be in the main rules?